Breasts and Eggs

Breasts and Eggs

Mieko Kawakami, Sam Bett, David Boyd

$15.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

TARGET CONSUMER:
• Literary Fiction
• Female protagonists, motherhood, the female body
• Contemporary Japanese Fiction

KEY SELLING POINTS:
• For fans of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Jia Tolentino, Lucia Berlin, The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery, and Sex Object by Jessica Valenti
• First of a three-book deal at auction (Frankfurt Book Fair 2018), with Heaven (Europa, 2021) and The Night Belongs to Lovers (Europa, 2021)
• Author is winner of the Akutagawa Prize (2008), the Murasaki Shikibu Literary Prize (2010) and the Tanizaki Prize (2013) among many other prestigious awards.
• Read Haruki Murakami’s piece in LitHub on Mieko Kawakami: https://lithub.com/haruki-murakami-on-his-favorite-young-novelist-mieko-kawakami/
• Originally serialized on a hugely popular blog, then published as a novella, this expanded edition of Breasts & Eggs is an epic, unforgettable, and timely novel
• The characters are all working-class women
Breasts & Eggs, the novella, sold 250,000 copies in Japan. Breasts & Eggs, the novel, will be published in Japan in 2019
• “9 Japanese Female Authors You Should Read.” https://savvytokyo.com/9-japanese-female-authors-you-should-add-to-your-reading-list/
• “Mieko Kawakami is Japan’s Brightest New Literary Star.” The Economist, https://www.economist.com/prospero/2018/10/09/mieko-kawakami-is-japans-brightest-new-literary-star


Author

Info

Reviews